Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home>News>Education Ministry Reviews Catchment Areas for Admission to Standard I


Average Rating

Related News

Education Ministry Reviews Catchment Areas for Admission to Standard I

Date: August 20, 2013
Domain:Education & Training
Persona: Citizen; Government

GIS – 20 August 2013: The Ministry of Education and Human Resources is proceeding to review the catchment areas of 35 high demand primary schools around the country. This exercise takes into account new developments in the regions such as the setting up of new housing estates, and demographic changes. 


The reviewed catchment areas would be used for admission to Standard I as from 2014, said the Minister of Education and Human Resources, Dr. Vasant Bunwaree, at a press conference this morning at MITD House, Phoenix.  As per Regulation 10 of the Education Regulations, by next week, the revised catchment areas will be published in the Government Gazette.  This decision was taken with a view to tightening control and avoiding fraudulent practices for admission to Standard I, he said.


Consequently, a “Proof of Residency” Form, comprising the following three components, would be introduced - certification of the genuineness of the address of the child by the Responsible Party; verification of the address of the child, in situ, by the Police; and certification of the application documents by the Ministry of Education and Human Resources. The Proof of Residency form will be used in the 35 high demand Primary schools as from this year for admission to Standard I in 2014.

The catchment area concept was first established under Regulation 10 of the Education Regulation 1989 and when it was last reviewed in 2002, it comprised 40 high demand schools. Currently, five of them are no longer considered as high demand schools since the demands for admission at Standard I level have decreased, namely: Dr Edgar Millien Government School (Port-Louis), Sir Edgar Laurent Government School (Port-Louis), Young Men Hindu aided (Port-Louis), Soopaya Soobiah Government School (Réduit), and Mon Trésor Mon Désert Government School.

“We are also ensuring that a very close scrutiny of application for admission be carried out with regard to residency to prevent fraudulent practices for admission to Standard I which will kick off in a few weeks”, said  Dr. Bunwaree.  He also recalled that significant changes regarding the catchment areas have taken place in the following four primary schools: Mohabeer Foogooa GS, Long Mountain; Shri Rajiv Gandhi GS, Central Flacq; Mahebourg RCA, and Sir Veerasamy Ringadoo GS, Quatre-Bornes.

Dr. Bunwaree made a request to parents who have children with special needs and who are aged 5 to get their children admitted in schools. Irrespective of the handicap, the child has the right to go to school, he said. Government is trying to give the best education it can to all children and children with special needs should not be left behind, he added. On that score, the Special Needs Unit of the Ministry of Education and Human Resources has been strengthened to give more support to those children.

The Ministry is working on a project to make pre-primary education compulsory as from age three instead four, as from next year. Another project in the pipeline relates to the introduction of the Sankoré project and Kreol Morisien in pre-primary level.

The list of 35 high demand primary schools is as follows:

Zone 1

raoul  rivet govt. school, (p. louis); dr. onésipho  beaugeard govt. school ( p.louis ); villiers  rené  govt. school ( p.louis); doorgachurn hurry govt. school (goodlands); bhewa mahadoo govt. school ( riv.du rempart ); daneswock  sewraz govt. school ( triolet); jean  lebrun  govt. school ( p. louis); mohabeer foogooa ( long mountain); notre dame du bon secours r.c.a ( p.louis); notre dame de lorette  r.c.a ( p.louis) ; notre dame de la paix r c a (p. louis) ; saint jean baptiste de la salle r c a (p. louis)

Zone 2

Shri Rajiv GANDHI Govt. School (CENTRAL FLACQ); Rajcoomar GUJADHUR  Govt. School (FLACQ ); Jules KOENIG Govt. School ( B.BASSIN); Petit Verger Govt School; Saint Pierre   R.C.A. ; Notre Dame DES VICTOIRES  R.C.A (R.HILL) ; Saint  Enfant Jésus  R.C.A (R.HILL) ; Notre  Dame de lourdes  R.C.A ( R.HILL) ; Philippe  Rivalland  R.C.A ( B.BASSIN )

Zone 3

DUPERRE  Govt. School (MAHEBOURG) ; WILLOUGHBY  Govt. School (MAHEBOURG); MAHEBOURG  R.C.A   School (MAHEBOURG); Mohabeer  BURRENCHOBAY Govt. School (P. MAGNIEN); ROSE BELLE NORTH Govt. School; Hugh OTTER BARRY Govt. School (CUREPIPE); Notre Dame de la  Confiance  R.C.A (CUREPIPE)

Zone 4

Baichoo MADHOO  Govt. School (Q.BORNES); Beau Séjour  Govt. School; Emilienne  Rochecouste Govt. School (Q.BORNES); Louis Nellan Govt. School (Q.BORNES); Pandit Cashinath Kistoe Aryan Vedic   Hindu Aided School ( VACOAS); Sir Veerasamy RINGADOO Govt. School (Q.BORNES ); Notre Dame de la Visitation R.C.A (VACOAS)

Government Information Service, Prime Minister’s Office, Level 6, New Government Centre, Port Louis, Mauritius. Email: Website:

(0) Comment(s)