-- Vacancy at the University of Mauritius - Post of SSR Chair of African Studies

-- Application for Assistance to Mauritians in Distress Abroad

-- AU Summit - PM announces that Mauritius will offer 50 Scholarships to African nationals

MFA Website


The Mauritius Embassy is located in Washington, D.C. The Embassy has multiple accreditations to the following: Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic. It has the following Honorary Consulates under its jurisdiction: San Francisco, Los Angeles, Arizona and Chicago in the U.S.; Ottawa, Montreal, Vancouver and Ontario in Canada, and San Fernando in Trinidad and Tobago.

The Mauritius Ambassador is the Mauritius Government's representative in the United States and is responsible for the direction and work of the Embassy and its Honorary Consulates. His task is to present the policies of the Government of Mauritius to the U.S. Government and tothe Americans, to report and explain American policies and views to his own government in Port Louis, and to promote Mauritian interests. He is also responsible for commercial and cultural relations and for visa and consular services.

The Embassy and other posts work to develop and sustain the important and long standing relationship between the United States and Mauritius. This involves dealing with a wide range of political, commercial, cultural and economic questions of mutual interest. Mauritius and the United States share a long history of friendship and partnership based on common democratic values, respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, the rule of law, and responsible democratic governance.

The Honorary Consuls keep the Ambassador posted with political, economic and other developments in their consular areas. They also help in providing advice on consular matters to American citizens and others as well as Mauritians in their Consular districts.

Mauritius is a melting pot of major civilizations and faiths of the world. It is a multiracial and pluri-cultural society which accounts for a total population of almost 1.3 million living in peaceful co-existence. Government is based on the Westminster model and successive governments' efforts since independence in 1968 have been to maintain Mauritius as a welfare state.

Copyright © Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and International Trade
Maintained by CISD & Hosted by NCB -- All rights reserved